HOW Did You Want to be When You Grew Up?

IMG_1830

I know I thought about WHAT I wanted to be, but did I think about HOW I wanted to be? It’s a good question and maybe it’s a question we should keep asking ourselves. And, if you have kids, even grown ones, keep asking them too.

Me at 11: Well, I’ll be a psychologist, children’s psychologist–because, that seems good.

Me at 15: Well, I’ll be famous, an actress, but on Broadway–not Hollywood, and people will love me and pay me lots of money. And I’ll have my picture taken all the time. And eat out a lot. And I’ll have long shiny hair.

Me at 18: I’ll take classes aimed at psychology AND try out for the theater.

I’m sure I thought I’d still be a good person–but only in the broadest sense of the term.

How did I want to be?

I think it’s a question we should start asking ourselves every morning:
How do I want to be…today?
Someone people trust, someone who laughs a lot, someone who sees the good…

Be intentional about it and show up with it wherever you’re going.

Today I want to be attentive. In the moment, aware of everything around me–other’s needs as well as my own.

Showing up. Almost as good as a standing ovation.

So tell me, how do you want to be today?

4 thoughts on “HOW Did You Want to be When You Grew Up?

  1. I think this is a wonderful question! I think at a young age. I was too busy surviving to worry about the how. My answer was usually, “NOT homeless.” Nowadays, I think we can do anything as long as we’re kind. I place a great deal of importance on kindness – there’s far too little of it in the world these days.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh Jenny, your answer touched me. I think of all the kids I see day in and day out at the library, and I’m pretty sure all they’re worried about is what am I going to eat? But I love your answer for now: kind. Beautiful

      Liked by 1 person

      • That has to break your heart to know the kids you support there are running around hungry. No child should have to be hungry. I’m happy to say I never was, but things were often uncertain and chaotic.

        Like

Leave a Reply

