START HERE

image

Have you ever thought to yourself, I need to change how I do things? Stop reacting to things, maybe have some preemptive things in place? Maybe, just maybe stop slogging through the day by rote.
And then you thought about making some of those changes, maybe looking at self-help books or programs or friends and think, “Man, that seems like a lot of work.” That old 21 day thing rears its judgmental head and you think: uh, if I could actually do something for 21 days it would already be a habit!

Sheesh!

Changing how you are or how you react or work or love is not easy, if it were, we’d all be done with it! Besides, you already have a job you don’t like…
But, I’m here to tell you, it doesn’t have to be daunting, in fact if it is daunting, it’s too much for you right now, you get to ease into daunting, for right now let’s just work on easy.

Starting here, where you are right at this moment, this is your beginning (or ending, as the case may be). Start with what you can do, say to yourself, this is where I’m at and this is what I can do.

I am so far from where I see myself being, what I know I could be, “the possibility of me” but I’m not going to let that stop me from being who I am now: the best me that I can accomplish with my strengths right at this moment.

I understand I am a constant work in progress, so I rarely disappoint myself—because, I’m not finished. Can you imagine if you were? If you were finished evolving, you’d be done! You’d be like, I don’t know, the Dalai lama, or Mother Teresa, or Angelina Jolie-Pitt! Juuuust kidding, but you see where I’m going with this?

Now, don’t get me wrong, this is not a “get out of jail free” card. You can’t constantly mess up and say, oh well—I’m a work in progress. You have to first attain one level of your possibility and then move on to the next. Not continually mess up at your lowest level. I guess that is where the work comes in, but tiny work and totally achievable.

I’d like to be a best-selling author, funky decor shop owner, essential oils seller, small group workshop leader, best mom, best wife, best daughter, best sister, and best friend. But I’m not going to knock all those out of the park tomorrow. Nor am I going to get all of them by trying to work on every single one at the same time!

Even though, that’s kind of how I roll.

I remind myself to relax–because when I try to do it all I get overwhelmed and do nothing. So, right now, I am writing (not as much as I thought I would be!) and working on relationships. This post is actually the start of a non-fiction book I’m “writing.” And it still might turn into that…but for now, it’s a blog post. And I’m okay with that.

What changes are you trying to ease into? And how are you being gentle with your bad self?

8 thoughts on “START HERE

  1. I’m not very good at gentle changes, so it’s been a bit of whirlwind here this year as I have started to send my life in the direction I want it to go: resigned from the charity I was a trustee for, resigned my teaching job, threw myself into the crafting business I want to develop, had building work done. And do you know what? I’m loving it! There’s lots still to do and a whole bunch of decluttering, which is a slow process, but I feel fabulous!

    Liked by 1 person

    • This made me so excited! Like, seriously excited. Because I would do that. I have to do it a little differently, but still–concentrating on the things that bring me joy, that I know I can do. You are a brave person, and I love that.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The journey starts with a single step. That and “If you really want to do something; no one can stop you. If you really don’t want to do something, no one can help you.” ~James Owen

    I hear you. Congrats on starting that journey!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love that you’re sharing all of this, Amy! I imagine we’ve all been at that point sometime, most of us more than once (or perpetually). Embracing the now certainly helps, I’ve found.

    The step that helps me more than anything is seeking and cherishing my passions, without worrying about where exactly that will lead. The most obscure thing can end up being the most important effort we ever made. Cheering for you hugely!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m hoping that as I’m moving through these things (and some of these things are things I have learned, but need to be reminded of) I make it easy for other people to move through them as well.

      I truly want people to see that trying something or deciding something doesn’t have to be hard. My mantra as a supervisor at work is: Yes! Let’s try it. And that’s how I’m learning to live my life!

      Like

  4. It’s interesting that I’ve always related to you Amy. I love your honesty as it comes across in your writing. I have a habit of wanting to be the best at everything I do. And that’s just not possible. Or is it? Perhaps, what we think is not our best, is our best. It’s the best at what we can do at that moment. Life changes everyday. And if we don’t make the needed adjustments, we fall behind. So we can only do our best, if we’re willing. As I’ve said before, I love your posts girl! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly! “It’s the best at we can do in that moment.” My mom always says: I did the best I could, with what I knew at the time.

      But as we move through these “things” our capacity expands.

      Also, I relate to you Karen, because I know you are empathetic and kind and enjoy a good laugh. I always (really trying to remedy this) think I should be the best at everything. I’m not. Of course. I need to remind myself of the things I’m good at, reach out to people who are much better at the things I’m not, and be at peace that this is a good thing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

