I am not an expert at: SEWING!

Welcome to the first in a new series of I AM NOT AN EXPERT AT…I’m excited to share this, because, well, I am not at expert at most things (am I an expert on anything? Laughter, probably. Making people feel good, sometimes…) yet I want to do so many things! Play the guitar, sew a dress, create rad jewelry, re-purpose awesome found things.

Do I know how to do any of these things? Soooooort-of? Kiiiiind of? Not really. But that hasn’t lessened my passion for them, just my actually trying to do them :).

So, today, I am saying eff-it, I am going to try this! Here’s something you need to know about me: I love paint and fabric. But I hate to use the paint or do anything with the fabric, because what if it doesn’t work out–I’ve just wasted the paint and/or the fabric (as if having both sit unused isn’t a waste in itself!). I also save things for a “just in case” scenario…THAT NEVER HAPPENS!

Okay! Today’s post is on sewing–sure I took Home-ec, back when Home Economics still existed, too bad it didn’t actually teach you economics, instead, we learned how to sew a peasant shirt (it was the 70s), how to bake an apple pie, and… oh yeah, how to give yourself a manicure. I am not even kidding.

I’ve wanted to make an apron (again, I am not even kidding) to wear around the house–my accomplishment apron–with large pockets, and not so cute that I’d hate getting it dirty or full of paint (because I am not an expert at that either and tend to get it all over–another post though).

I have an old curtain that I’ve been saving (I don’t know why!) and I found a scrap cut from a tablecloth (mine is an adventurous life). I was going to make a skirt for the hallway bench, but as I looked at the curtain, I realized if I cut it in half it would be the perfect size for an apron…hmmm. And then three weeks went by. But this week, my vacation, I thought, “Gol darn it! I am doing this–just do it! AAARGH!”

Here I am JUST DOING IT! Cutting without measuring, Figuring out a seam without measuring. Anarchy! And I love it!

I am not measuring anythingcutting my curtain in half

Once I started, it was so easy to keep going. I had a raw edge, and I was going to add bias tape, but it seemed like a lot of work so I re-cut the raw edge with Pinking Shears–that makes me sound like I know what I’m doing, but believe me, the only reason I have Pinking Shears is because they make a pretty design.

here's the scrap material on the apronI had to get the bias tape through the seam...knitting needle

Above, I decided to use the bias tape as the tie, but had to figure out how to get it through the slim opening. first I tried the safety pin method, you know how you pin it to the end of the tie and then feed it through…centimeter, by centimeter. Yeah. Did not work well at all. I finally decided on a knitting needle (something else I’m not an expert at), I shoved the tip through the end of the tape and then slid it through the opening. Ha! Take that!

Anyway, the whole point of this is don’t wait to be at expert at something before you try it–because you will never have the expertise you want in order to do the things you want to try. So, make mistakes, have fun, and do the things!

me in my accomplishment apronYay! I made that! Then I started painting stuff…but that’s another post!

What have you tried outside your comfort and expertise zone?

Leave a Reply

